Academy of American Poets Prize Winners 2010

April 30, 2010


We are pleased to announce the winners and honorable mentions of the 2010 Academy of American Poets Prize Competition!

39 UNM poets participated in both the grad and undergrad contests. Winners each receive $75. Thanks to everyone who submitted work!

~Dana Levin, Contest Coordinator

Graduate Competition:

Winner: Tommy Archuleta, for “Jack’s Creek Soliloquy”
Hon Mention: Erika Sanchez, for “Earthquake”

Judge: Amy Beeder

Undergraduate Competition:

Winner: Katlyn McKinney, for “Water Passing”
Hon Mention: Oakley Merideth, for “Vulgar Latin”

Judge: Lisa Chavez

Transparency Statement:
All submissions were presented to judges with identifying marks removed. The contest coordinator did no pre-screening, ranking or evaluation, added no commentary on submissions, and engaged in no conversation with the judges regarding submissions. For more information on the contest and the Academy of American Poets, click the link below.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: