h1

Request for Suggested Reading

September 14, 2009

Posted by Rick

I’ve got a project I’ve been kicking around for a while that I hope some of you may be able to help me out with. Back when I wrote my Senior Honors Thesis, a part of what I was trying to write about was Post 9-11 (PO-NE) Fiction. I am hoping to begin collecting/reviewing  literary fiction pieces to edit into a collection of PO-NE fiction.

To define PO-NE, let me first say what I don’t mean. I don’t mean stories about 9/11, about the attacks, such as John Updike’s “Terrorist,” or Don Delillo’s “Falling Man.” (In fact it’s better the stories don’t reference 9/11 directly.) I also don’t mean, merely, stories published after that date.

To me, these stories are about life in a world that has been influenced by those events and the resultant social and economic changes. These might include stories that are based on the mortgage-lending crisis, the military’s Stop-Loss program, traveling in foreign countries as an American.

Another factor I’m looking for in these stories is diversity of location. While we all did not suffer to the degree of those at the scene, we suffered nonetheless.  I would not even mind some stories that were about how American’s (or Canadians or Mexicans), far removed from the Eastern seaboard dealt with their grief, mourning, and trauma.

So, that is the kernel of the idea. I’m looking primarily for fiction, though some poetry or non-fiction that reflects the above might be considered. I’m just exploring right now. I found it very difficult to find anything even close that was not Manhattan-centered (e.g. Deborah Eisenberg’s “Twilight of the Superheroes.”)

This isn’t a call for submissions. What I’m looking for is suggestions of stories you may be aware of that I should look at. If you have any ideas, please email me: rraabfaber_AT_google.com.

Thanks!

2 comments

  1. check out Jo Ann Beard’s “Werner” originally published in Tin House… from Best American Essays 2007 (I have a copy if you want to borrow). Seems to me our discussion of the work included some discussion of post 9/11 culture and its impact on the rendering of the story…. –Jenn


    • Yeah, I’d like to see that. Thanks!



Leave a Reply

