h1

You Must be this Tall to Ride Anthology

June 5, 2009

Editor B.J. Hollars writes:

I am an MFA candidate at the University of Alabama where I’ve served as nonfiction editor and assistant fiction editor for Black Warrior Review. I’m writing in regards to a new anthology I’ve just completed entitled “You Must Be This Tall To Ride: Contemporary Writers Take You Inside the Story” published by Writer’s Digest Books. Essentially, it’s 20 literary coming of age stories, 20 original essays by the authors explaining how they initially wrote the stories, as well as 20 writing exercises from the authors. It features work previously published in Best American Stories, Best American Nonrequired Reading, The Pushcart Prize anthologies, among others. Steve Almond, Aimee Bender, Judy Budnitz, Dan Chaon, Stuart Dybek, Michael Martone, Antonya Nelson, Peter Orner, Benjamin Percy, and Brady Udall are all contributors, just to name a few.

I don’t stand to make any money off of this endeavor (I divided the advance among the contributors) and I’m contacting you on behalf of these stories and essays simply because I think they might work well at the University of New Mexico.

I encourage you to check out the website, www.YouMustBeThisTallToRide.net and see for yourself. I’ve also started an online magazine related to the
book, and submission guidelines can also be found on the same site.

Thanks for taking a peek and helping to spread the good word.

Take care, and again, I appreciate your help. Feel free to contact me any time.

Yours,
B.J. Hollars

Leave a Reply

